Optimizing Translation Costs (Use Local TM)
The Use Local TM feature helps you reduce translation costs, by reducing the quantity of content that Connector sends to translation providers. With this feature, the Connector sends only changed content fields out for translation. To do this, it checks each field of the source version for any content changes.
However, this feature needs Connector translation backup data, and it increases the Connector processing time before sending out the items for translation. For information on enabling Connector translation backup data, refer to the Lionbridge Connector for Sitecore Installation and Configuration Guide.
This feature is available:
by selecting the Use Local TM check box in the Translation Options page of the Bulk Translation wizard, as described in Sending Multiple Content Items for Translation.
by selecting the Use LocalTM check box in the Automatic Item Export for Translation dialog box, as described in Submitting a Content Item for Translation using the Content Editor and Submitting Content for Translation from the Experience Editor.